Now Playing Tracks

MEET THE BAND: Borrowed Beams of Light


This week, we had the distinct pleasure of catching up with Adam Brock, staple of the Charlottesville music scene. You may know him from any of the numerous projects he is involved in, including Weird Mob and Y’all, as well as his personal project, Borrowed Beams of Light. Having just released their sophomore album, ON The Wings Of A Bug, last November to largely positive reviews, including a mention on GawkerBBoL has been steadily gaining monentum. But Brock says, he is content to “embrace the slow burn.” As long as he hits it big posthumously, that it.

Read on to find out more about someone named Captain Goodvibes, something called the Voynich Manuscript, and why it’s ok to look up to The Beatles. All according to Mr. Adam Brock.

Read More

SUPPORT THE SUPPORT: Man Man, Emma Ruth Rundle, Anna Rose, Broken Anchor, Code Orange Kids

Man Man, formed in 2003 and led by pianist/lead vocalist Honus Honus, is an experimental rock group from Philadelphia. Historically driven by an uncompromisingly wacky energy, the band is geared to embrace the unusual, often deviating from any convention of sound and remaining determined not to be pigeonholed into one particular genre of music. Man Man has grown steadily in popularity with each new release, the totality of which amounts to five studio albums. Their most recent work, 2013’s On Oni Pond, contained the single “Head On,” which reached #32 on the Billboard Alternative Music charts.

See Man Man open for Gogol Bordello tomorrow, July 17 at The Jefferson!

RIYL: Dr. Dog, Andrew Bird’s Bowl of Fire, Holly Golighty and the Brokeoffs

Emma Ruth Rundle, formerly of Red Sparowes and Marriages, is a singer/songwriter from Los Angeles. Rundle spent a few years removed from the music world following the disintegration of both groups, but made a definitive return earlier this year with the release of Some Heavy Ocean, a solo record that took approximately a year to produce. The music on the album is wrought with the strife and exhaustion of a tortured soul, manifesting itself in aggressive, passionate outbursts as well as delicate, almost timid, musical and vocal expressions. The various elements of struggle are compellingly inescapable and assume a powerful grip on the listener’s mind from beginning to end.

See Emma Ruth Rundle open for King Buzzo this Friday, July 18 at The Southern.

RIYL: Anousheh Khalili, Amy Cook, Hannah Trigwell


Anna Rose, a blues/rock and roll artist based in New York City, has spent the last few years making a name for herself as a badass singer and sharpening songwriter determined not to be ignored. Rose’s outlaw sound stems from her tough, powerful vocal work meshing in concert with an edgy rhythm section and a large dose of hard rock-style guitar playing. Her upcoming album, entitled Behold a Pale Horse, is poised to be her most polished work in terms of songwriting thus far. But if her previous work is any indication, she hasn’t lost any of her authentic, raw sound.

See Anna Rose open for Tony Lucca and Tyler Hilton this Sunday, July 20 at The Southern.

RIYL: Stevie Nicks, Joan Jett, Chrissie Hynde


Broken Anchor, an Indie-pop project created in Los Angeles during 2012, is the latest musical construction by Austin Hartley-Leonard and Michael Duffy. The group’s rich vocal formations are as warm as the wall of sound established in most of their tunes, which ebbs and flows through soft, laid-back verses to triumphant swells during choruses and outro arrangements, lulling the listener into melodic and harmonic bliss. Employing creative and catchy pop chord changes with ease, Broken Anchor are a treat for the ears and an intriguing live act.

Check out Broken Anchor opening for Scars on 45 on Tuesday, July 22 at The Southern.

RIYL: The Paper Kites, Kodaline, Brown Recluse


Code Orange Kids, constructed in 2010, are a hardcore punk band from Pittsburgh. The group, now signed to Deathwish, has released three EPs and one LP since their formation, with their second LP entitled I Am King set to debut in September. Their sound is thrashing, intense, dark, and massive, with each piece destined to combust into chaos and reach a nearly uncontrollable boiling point. Their live show will be nuclear, so prepare for the eruption. It might will get loud.

Check out Code Orange Kids open for Killswitch Engage this Tuesday, July 22 at The Jefferson!

RIYL: Weekend Nachos, Converge, Trash Talk

George Washburne from Crozet, Virginia is a rising senior at the University of Richmond, pursuing a degree in History and Business. Washburne began his involvement in the Charlottesville music scene by becoming a member of the Music Resource Center in high school, and has since gone on to release a full-length album of original music, perform with local artists like Carl Anderson and Erin Lunsford, and form groups that continue to play shows in the area.

We all know the greatest new release this week was this:

But seriously, here is the good stuff:

  • Bruce Hornsby  - Life in the Psychotropics
  • Ex Hex* - Don’t Wanna Lose
  • HAIM ft. A$AP Ferg - My Song 5
  • Steve Gunn - Milly’s Garden
  • Magic Man - It All Starts Here
  • So Cow - Barry Richardson
  • Duke Dumont - Won’t Look Back
  • Bat For Lashes - Skin Song
  • Half Japanese  - In Its Pull
  • Common ft. Big Sean - Diamonds
  • Running - Totally Fired
  • Jenny Lewis - The Voyager
  • Usher ft. Nicki Minaj - She Came To Give It To You
  • The Dead Weather - Buzzkill(er)

*Washington, D.C.’s fem punk super band Ex Hex, certified punk royalty Mary Timony, will be at The Southern with Brooklyn’s Hospitality and Cville’s Big Air on Sunday, July 27. This will mark the homecoming of now-defunct Fire Tapes' Betsy Wright.

SHOWS TO GET PSYCHED FOR :: 07.14.14 - 07.20.14

This week at The Pavilion:

  • FRI: Fridays After Five ft. Second Draw with Emma Leigh
  • SATMartina McBride with Ashley McMillen

This week at The Jefferson:

  • THUGogol Bordello with Man Man
  • FRI: Rockn to Lockn with Kings of Belmont, The Design, Erin & The Wildfire, and Steal The Prize
  • SATMilk Carton Kids

This week at The Southern:

  • WED: An Evening with Chris Smither
  • THU: The Official Gogol Bordello Afterparty with Tres Leches
  • FRIKing Buzzo (of Melvins) with Emma Ruth Rundle
  • SAT: WNRN Welcomes Ha Ha Tonka with Sam Cregger ft. an Acoustic Happy Hour before the show from 6:30 to 7:30 PM
  • SUNTony Lucca and Tyler HIlton with Anna Rose ft an Acoustic Happy Before the show from 6:30 to 7:30 PM

This Saturday, July 19 also marks the beginning of Restaurant Week, which will run through Saturday, July 26. The Southern will be serving a three-course $16 prix fixe menu daily from 5 pm to 10 pm and Saturdays for brunch from 11 am to 2 pm.

To Tumblr, Love Pixel Union